Weight Watchers

It’s been a long time since my last post! What’s cool looking back is that even since my last post, I haven’t given up on working toward health, just changed strategies.

I now am following a Weight Watchers plan and LOOOOOOOOOOVE this new plan. Take Shape For Life is a wonderful program, taught me so much, and helped give me hope that I really can get healthy, but it wasn’t a good long-term lifestyle for me personally. Weight Watchers is a different story.

I began following Weight Watchers this last January 31st, 2016. In 8 1/2 months, I have lost 40lbs! This is the most I’ve EVER lost at one time, and I am SO encouraged and motivated to keep going! I have never in my life been so confident that I’ve found the right program that will help me build healthy, life-long habits that will help me get to a healthy weight and will help me live the life of freedom that I want to live.

I could go on and on about the things I love about Weight Watchers, but I’ll pick just a few things today:

1. Weight Watchers Smart Points plan (you get a certain number of points to eat each day as well as weeklie points you can spread out and use whenever) guides you toward good nutrition because healthy foods are lower in points, but it does not restrict you from eating ANYTHING. This is a huge thing for me personally. When I feel completely restricted from a food or drink, I feel sad, frustrated, and sometimes even crave it more. And I can restrict myself from something while I lose weight, but do I really never want to have chocolate cake or pizza again for the rest of my life? Absolutely not. Weight Watchers is helping me find balance in my eating. I truly, truly believe I can do this for a lifetime. I’m eating the foods that I love AND am losing weight! I’m also learning about new delicious healthy foods or healthier ways to cook my favorite dishes!

2. Connect!!!! This has been the missing piece to my weight loss for years! Connect is an online community that Weight Watchers recently developed. Connect is basically like Facebook for Weight Watcher members. People post recipes, struggles, accomplishments, questions, funny and inspiring quotes, before-and-after pictures, and fun challenges to help you set goals. Connect is the MOST encouraging and supportive community I’ve EVER been a part of. EVER. It’s a place where you constantly realize, “I’m not alone in my struggle!” And it’s an extremely loving community. We celebrate each other’s successes and encourage each other in our hardships. Many, many people post about heartbreaking stories about illness, abuse, and other life struggles and it is AMAZING to see people reach out in love to support someone that have never met before. I can not begin to tell you how important Connect has been to help keep me encouraged and motivated on this journey. I have extremely supportive friends and family but most of my friends and family have not struggled with their weight to the same extent that I have. It’s SO refreshing to feel like you are in a community where people really understand where you’re coming from. It’s beyond encouraging to see others who have gone before you and lost 25, 50, 75, 100+ lbs. I see them and am encouraged that if they can do it, so can I!

3.  And there are many, many more things I could talk about, but one of the things that has helped me in Weight Watchers was started because of something my WW leader said in a meeting. She had found research that said if you can identify 100 reasons why you want to reach a goal, you will be much more likely to stick with your plan and to reach that goal. So I began a hashtag so others could join me in Connect #100daysofwhy. For 100 days, I posted a reason why getting healthy was important to me. At first the idea of thinking of 100 reasons was overwhelming. I honestly didn’t think I had 100 reasons. Many members began to join me and it grew into a cool community. Now over 7,700 posts have been made from people posting their 100 Days of Why. I read through others posts regularly and had SO many “me too!” moments that kept me encouraged and reminded me that I wasn’t alone.

Being overweight carries so much shame with it and Connect and 100 Days of Why have helped me slowly strip away years of shame and helped me really confirm what I already knew, I am valuable, capable, and worth spending the time and resources to get healthy.

If you are wanting to work on your health, I’d highly recommend the Weight Watchers program. There are several levels membership. You can be an online member only (which gives you access to Connect and the Weight Watchers tracking App) or you can do what I do and attend weekly meetings as well as have access to Connect and the Weight Watchers App. The second opt-in,what I do, is I believe about $45/month. WORTH EVERY PENNY!

If you have any questions, I’d be happy to help or do what I can to find you answers!

Thank you for reading and for your support in my journey to health!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

