Imagine 2
“Imagine the life you could live if you stayed true to making healthy choices today, tomorrow, this week, this month and this year. . .” This is a phrase I’ve read over and over in a healthy challenge that I’ve been participating. At first it’s inspiring, and then it’s kinda embarrassing to think about. It’s been almost a year since I really made a new commitment to get healthy. I was pumped, motivated, dedicated (so I thought) and idealistic. The first 3 months or so were great. I couldn’t be happier with how I was feeling and the steps that I was taking to get healthy. I actually believed, “I CAN DO THIS. GETTING HEALTHY REALLY IS A POSSIBILITY FOR ME!” But then I didn’t. And I think, “Wow, where could I be today, if I had stayed more committed this last year? I could have been extremely close to my goal health wise and living a very different life right now.” I know it’s not healthy to dwell on the past, but I think it’s important to reflect on the past, so I can move on and make different choices to have the future that I want for my life.

I could make up a thousand excuses (and there always seems to be one) for why I haven’t been as committed. I didn’t give up and kept trying, but my progress has basically stalled for the last 8 months. Some days I do great eating healthy, exercising, getting great sleep, reducing stress, managing my money wisely, and other days I totally blow it. To be honest, I am trying to make several major changes in my life, and sometimes, I get overwhelmed and question whether or not I can really make those changes. I’ve tried so many times and not succeeded. The desire is still there, but the confidence of whether I can achieve those goals wavers.

I have the tools, knowledge, passion, and desire to make healthy changes, but to actually put all of that to use and having discipline is what is difficult for me. I know that in the end, it will be MORE THAN WORTH IT, but I am struggling getting there.

Today I thought of an analogy of me having all the tools, knowledge, passion, and desire to get healthy, but not following through with my plan. It’s kind of like someone has offered me a FULL-RIDE scholarship to college. Although it’s a dream of mine to go to college, and I know it will have a huge and positive impact on my future, I don’t really want to do the work it takes to graduate. That’s CRAZY y’all. Plain crazy to give up an opportunity like that.

And that’s it for now. I don’t have a conclusion to my thoughts. I’m still processing it all. Usually I try to keep my posts positive and encouraging and maybe even motivating. Here’s my “I struggle too” post. I’m not giving up, but I’m not sure where to start to get back on track. Step 1 is talking with my great health coach tonight! She’s been there and has built healthy habits into her life, so hopefully God will use her to help me get back on track.

In the meantime, I think I’m going to adopt this phrase to give me daily direction to help me stay committed to my goals and to make healthy choices: “Imagine the life you could live if you stayed true to making healthy choices today, tomorrow, this week, this month and this year. . .”

Leave a Reply

