Refocus: 60 Day Challenge

60-day-challenge

Ok, time to get back on track!  I’ve still been trying to eat well for the most part but haven’t stayed as disciplined and have plateaued on the weight loss, so I decided that I need to refocus and set some new goals.

My birthday is exactly 2 months away, so I’m going to use that for my goal date to accomplish my new goals! My overall goal is to lose 20 more lbs. by my birthday.  That’ll be a total of 50 lbs!!!  That’s exciting to think about and to believe that this can actually happen!  I’m already thinking ahead that at the 100 lb. weight loss, I’d like to do something to celebrate. . .maybe a cruise?  I’ve never been on one and always wanted to go.  Anybody interested? BUT SERIOUSLY, I really want to go on one.

Here are the things I want to do in the next two months:
1.  Lose 20 lbs. (that’s 2.5 lbs/week which is a healthy and realistic goal if I stay disciplined)
2.  Exercise at LEAST 3 times a week for at least 30 minutes each time.  I know that’s not a lot, but a good place to start.  My plan is to do Zumba at my house.  I also have a gym membership and may take advantage of that as well.
3.  Stick to the 5 & 1 plan AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE.  (This is part of my health plan with Take Shape for Life).  If necessary, I can have two lean meals in a day or if I’m in a situation where I don’t have control over my food, I will eat small portions and make as healthy of choices as possible. On Christmas Eve, I am planning to enjoy pizza with my family as it’s our tradition and on Christmas, I will eat whatever my family is eating with smaller portions (and some healthier options I’ll suggest).  My health coach introduced an idea to me for Thanksgiving that I really like.  When a special holiday or occasion comes up, have a plan and stick to the plan.  If you plan on going ahead and eating that piece of pumpkin pie, eat that pumpkin pie and jump right back on your normal plan after.  It’s easy when you are trying to eat well to eat something you weren’t planning on eating because you are tempted and give in to that temptation.  Then you often feel guilt AND it’s SUPER easy to say, “Eh, I already messed up, may as well enjoy the rest of the day/week/month and start back again on Monday.” This is a terrible cycle that I’ve been in many times before and that I don’t want to ever be in again.  The cool thing about this concept that my coach taught me is that since you PLANNED to eat the piece of pie, you are still in control of your health.  You haven’t “messed” up or “cheated”, you’ve followed your plan.  The feelings of guilt and cycle of putting off your health to another day don’t have to continue.
4.  Drink at least 64 oz. of water per day.
5.  Get at least 7 hours of sleep per night.

And that’s it!  I put these on here to refocus myself and to gain accountability.  You know what I’m working on so PLEASE feel free to ask how I’m doing!  If you’ve gotten off track on your journey to health, jump back in.  Refocus, set some goals, give yourself a deadline, seek out accountability.  I want to end with repeating something I had shared in an earlier post:

Lysa Terkeurst (author of Made to Crave) shares on her blog, “What is this truth? We were made for more than this. More than this failure, more than this cycle, more than being ruled by taste buds – we were made for victory. Sometimes we just have to find our way to that truth.”
(http://www.oneplace.com/ministries/proverbs-31-ministries/read/articles/ill-start-again-on-monday-12129.html)

We were made for victory, not feelings of defeat and guilt! Isn’t that breath of fresh air?  Let me repeat myself, WE DON’T HAVE TO LIVE IN FEELINGS OF DEFEAT.  John 10:10 says, “I have come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

My hope and prayer for you all (and for myself) is that we can live in that freedom and live abundantly, how we were intended to live!

One comment

  1. This is FANTASTIC, Carrie!! I love the goals that you set and believe that these are appropriate, doable, and will lead you to success! I am with you! I believe in you! God has made a way, and as you submit to His plan He will continue to grace you for this journey. 20 Lbs in 2 months for your Bday; let’s do it!! 50 lbs down is a great accomplishment and definitely deserves some new fun clothes for your Bday. I also think a celebration cruise for 100 lbs gone is amazing!! I love it! You can do this and see it through all the way to the end. You have the strategy, now to continue to work the plan and know that what you are fighting for is so worth it! You are fighting for so many others as well. You are making a way for others who are desperate and longing for health in their lives. You will lead them there! So thankful for you!! Janelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

