Hope

BUSY last two weeks!  But I’m still here, still working on it, haven’t given up, won’t give up.  I went to my 10-year College Reunion this last week and AMAZINGLY, somehow, laughter and walking aimlessly around campus burned more calories than normal because I actually lost weight.  I stepped on the scale this morning, expecting a bigger number and graciously, it was nice to me!  I didn’t eat terribly while on vacation and still for the most part tried to make smart choices, but I also didn’t stress too much about it.  I tried to make it more about the people I was with then stressing about what I’d be eating or not eating. God also brought me some amazing friends to encourage me to continue on in my journey to health.

Although it was sad to leave my college friends, it is fun to think, “Next time I see you, I’m going to be significantly healthier!  We could go clothes shopping, and I won’t have to wonder if something will fit!”  And like I’ve mentioned in another post, something is different about this time around.  Several people have asked me what prompted this new attitude, and I really can’t pinpoint just one thing.  There are many things that have slowly brought me to where I am.

I TRULY believe that I can actually do this. I have the tools I need, am learning the discipline I need, am surrounded by friends and family who are FOR ME, have the motivation I need, and have the Holy Spirit helping me when I feel weak.  What an amazing feeling!  I have HOPE.  Hope is such a freeing feeling.  It takes away the stress and the feelings of potential failure and fills me with anticipation of what will be. Hope allows me to have joy in the journey.  I always thought that ONCE I got healthy, then I’d be joyful, but that’s not the case.  I can be joyful IN the journey.

Joyful in Hope
Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Romans 15:13  May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

One comment

Leave a Reply

