What do You Wannabe?

The mid-90s produced, in my opinion, one of the most fun groups in a long time:  The Spice Girls.  Yes they were cheesy (and maybe annoying at times), but they were fun and unique and their catchy tunes were fun to sing (and dance) to.  I have a distinct memory from 9th Grade from a youth group ski trip.  My BFF Courtney and I spent the WHOLE WAY HOME learning the lyrics to “Wannabe” by the Spice Girls.  To this day, it is definitely a top 10 fav for me for karaoke.  I have also dressed up on TWO DIFFERENT occasions as Sporty Spice. . .yeah who else can make that claim? Anybody recognize Baby Spice, Posh Spice, Scary Spice, and Ginger Spice?

Displaying Screenshot_2014-10-23-17-28-25-1.pngSo in honor of the Spice Girls and all things 90s and awesome, here’s my updated version of their song, “Wannabe”, Mamma Lipps style.  If you don’t know this song or the Spice Girls, you will be SO CONFUSED (You can skip to the next part!) Don’t worry, all my posts will NOT be my own version of awesome songs.

“Wannabe (Healthy)”

Yo, I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really really really wanna get me some health ha.

If you wanna get your health back, wanna make it last,
If you wanna exercise, gotta have a blast,
Now don’t go wasting your precious time,
Get your goals together, and you’ll be just fine.

Yo, I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really really really wanna get me some health ha.

If you wanna have less poundage, you gotta stick with a plan (gotta stick with a plan)
Make it last forever, good habits never end,
If you wanna lose some poundage, you’ve got to have some aim,
Get some friends to join you, you’ll never be the same.

Ok, ok, I’ll stop, it’s getting kind of ridiculous and I have no idea where to go with the A to Z rap.

Silly song, I know, but to regain your health, you’ve got to really WANT it.  You’ve got to come up with a plan, goals, and understand and identify why it’s really important to you.  This will help give you the motivation and develop the discipline needed to not just WANT good health but to GET good health. I’m just starting my journey, so I by no means am an expert or have it all figured out, but these are some things that I’ve been learning and that have helped me so far.

WRITE YOUR GOALS DOWN.  Write them in a blog, post them on your fridge, make a vision board that you’ll see daily, whatever.  But don’t just think about them, write them down and be specific.  If you don’t know what you’re working toward, you won’t know when you’ve gotten there.  When we just think about our goals and never actually put them down, it’s sort of like we aren’t fully committing to them.  The act of actually writing them down can be a physical reminder of your commitment to achieving them.

KEEP IN MIND BOTH SHORT-TERM AND LONG-TERM GOALS.  Let’s say that you need to lose 100 lbs. to get your body into a healthy state.  100 lbs. is a PRETTY overwhelming number, (at least to me it is).  It can be discouraging when you are working toward a big goal that can at times seem insurmountable.  The 100 lb. loss should be your long-term goal.  For a short-term goal, you may say that you are going to lose 15 lbs. by Christmas.  This goal is a much easier goal to wrap your mind around and something that you can work toward.  At Christmas, reevaluate and set a new goal (keeping your long-term goal in mind as well). Giving yourself an end date is always good because it helps keep you on track AND gives you something to look forward to.  Setting end dates for long-term goals is a little trickier (since it may depend on a lot of factors) but definitely a great idea for the short-term goals.

SHARE THEM WITH FRIENDS OR FAMILY.  There is something powerful about actually verbalizing your thoughts with others.  It provides accountability, often helps you find others who are going through the same thing, and reminds you when you get off track what you are working toward.  AND even better, it provides you with cheerleaders to celebrate with you along the way.  I’d like to think that I can keep intrinsically motivated and be satisfied completely with my own pats on the back, but really most of us really benefit from words of affirmation and encouragement from others.  We may not need this all of the time, but on those days where things are challenging, those cheerleaders can play an important role in keeping us on track.

When I’m tempted to quit or to go off of the plan I’ve set for myself, I have to look back to my reasons why I want to get healthy.  Here are my current short-term and long-term goals.  I set my goals based on the reasons or my motivation to get healthy.  Your goals and reasons/motivation to make healthy changes should be related.

SHORT-TERM GOALS (Going to re-evaluate at the end of December):
-Lose a total of 50 lbs. by the end of 2014 (a little more than half-way to my goal!)
-Get in the habit of exercising regularly (at least 3x per week for at least 30 minutes)

LONG-TERM GOALS (Not sure on a time line yet for these goals):
-Have a healthy Body Mass Index (BMI)
-Go Sky Diving
-Hike the Grand Canyon
-Play in a competitive tennis league
-Go to an amusement park and ride whatever rides I want

(Interesting that most of my long-term goals are doing something active.  Just reminds me of my love for adventure and how I don’t want my health to ever keep me from that.)

MOTIVATION FOR CHANGE:

1.  I want to live a FULL and vibrant active life.  I REALLY want to go skydiving.  REALLY want to.  My sister has even given me money to go as a gift and I’ve never gone.  To fully enjoy the experience, I need to be at a healthier weight.  I also want to hike the Grand Canyon.  Right now, I’m definitely not in shape to do that.  I want to be at a healthy weight so that I don’t hesitate to do these kinds of things.
2.  I don’t want to be worried about my weight and focusing on myself and miss out on opportunities to love on other people because I’m so focused on my insecurities.
3.  I want to be a good example to my nephew and nieces and possibly children someday.
4.  I want to be able to walk into any store, find what I like, and find my size.  I love shopping and love fashion but where you are plus-sized, it’s MUCH harder to find clothes that fit right and are flattering.
5.  If I ever get married, I want to be confident in my body because I don’t want that to get in the way of my relationship with my husband.
6.  I want to sit in an airplane seat, theater seat, roller coaster, etc. and not feel like I’m spilling over onto the person next to me.  Ha I can’t believe I actually verbalized this one.  It’s not one I really share with many people but it is a real struggle for someone who struggles with their weight.

And so yeah, that’s it!  To lose weight and to get healthy, you’ve got to really WANT it.  You’ve got to come up with a plan, goals, and understand and identify why it’s really important to you.  This will help give you the motivation and develop the discipline needed to not just WANT good health but to GET good health. So go get it.

Leave a Reply

